Education Law

House Pub Ed Hears Senate Bill that Reduces Educator Preparation Program Accountability

CSSB 1278 (Larry Taylor) would require the results of educator certification examinations prescribed not be included for educator preparation program (EPP) accountability in subject areas identified by TEA to be a teacher shortage area. The bill would require the exclusion of certain unsuccessful attempts made by alternative certification candidates on a content certification examination in […]

Senator Jane Nelson – Senate Finance Holds First Organizational Hearing

January 23, 2017-Contact: Melissa Duncan-512-463-0112 Senate Finance Holds First Organizational Hearing AUSTIN — Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, presided today over the Senate Finance Committee’s organizational hearing, which included an overview of the Biennial Revenue Estimate by Comptroller Glenn Hegar and an overview of SB 1, the appropriations bill, by Ursula Parks, LBB Director. “SB […]

It’s Finance Time in the Legislature-again

Senate Finance Committee to Meet Today on Education Funding Issues The Senate Finance Committee will hold a hearing at 9 a.m., Tuesday, January 24, that is focused on public education funding. To consider the following:   SB 1          Nelson                 General Appropriations Bill. Texas Education Agency Teacher Retirement System Optional Retirement Program Higher Education Group Insurance Windham […]

Creating a New Vision for Public Education in Texas – TASB – 2017

The Vision — TASB — 2017 We envision schools where all children succeed, feel safe and their curiosity is cultivated. We seeschools that foster a sense of belonging and community and that inspire collaboration. We see learning standards that challenge, and intentionally designed experiences that delight students, develop their confidence and competence, and cause every […]

New 2017 Senate Committee on Education – Plus budget proposals

Senate Committees Announced – TASA – 1-18-2017 The Senate committees have been announced. Members of the Senate Education Committee:      Emails may be sent from this site to any or all of the new members.   Dr. CR Sen. Larry Taylor (chair) Sen. Eddie Lucio (vice chair) Sen. Paul Bettencourt Sen. Donna Campbell Sen. Bob Hall […]

Scroll to top